City Council


The City Council meets at 7:00 p.m. on the first and third Mondays of each month in the Municipal Room of the Monona Public Library (lower level). The Council may meet less regularly in the summer months.

City Council meetings can be streamed live, or a recorded version can be viewed on the Monona Community Media's You Tube channel.

Watch meetings

Comm Media

Agendas, Minutes & Packets

Agendas and meeting packets are available on Fridays prior to the Monday meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent Agenda | View All Agendas and Minutes


The mayor, elected at large for a two-year term of office, together with six alderpersons elected at large for two-year, staggered terms, comprise the Monona City Council.
  • Mary O'Connor, Mayor
  • Molly Grupe, Alderperson
  • Andrew Kitslaar, Alderperson / Council President
  • Jennifer Kuhr, Alderperson
  • Nancy Moore, Alderperson
  • Kathy Thomas, Alderperson
  • Doug Wood, Alderperson

Responsibilities & Services

The council serves as the legislative branch of the city government, enacting ordinances and resolutions, approving the annual budget, setting policies, and taking other actions to guide the operations of the city. Elections are held on a nonpartisan basis in April of each year, preceded by a February primary if there are more than double the candidates running as the seats available.

At the annual organizational meeting in April, one alderperson is elected council president, functioning as acting mayor whenever necessary.